Scotiabank Photography Award

  • Mark Ruwedel, Wonder Valley #119, 2014
    Mark Ruwedel, Wonder Valley #119, 2014, gelatin silver print mounted on archival board, Courtesy of the artist, Gallery Luisotti and Art 45
  • Isabelle Hayeur, Nadia
    Isabelle Hayeur, Nadia
  • Angela Grauerholz , Voltaire Study , 2004
    Angela Grauerholz , Voltaire Study , 2004
  • Rafael Goldchain , Doña Lilia, Oaxaca, México, 1986
    Rafael Goldchain , Doña Lilia, Oaxaca, México, 1986


Scotiabank Photography Award 

 The jury of the Scotiabank Photography Award is proud to announce that the finalists for 2015 are gifted Canadian photographers Rafael Goldchain, Angela Grauerholz and Isabelle Hayeur.

Now in its fifth year, the Scotiabank Photography Award was created to raise the international profile of Canada’s leading photographic artists and is Canada’s largest annual peer-reviewed celebration of excellence in Canadian contemporary photography. 

April 29 – June 28, 2015
Ryerson Image Centre
Co-curators: Paul Roth & Gaëlle Morel

Mark Ruwedel has emerged as one of Canada’s most internationally respected landscape photographers over the past three decades. Working primarily in the western territories of the United States as well as Canada, the artist documents cultural traces and physical imprints of human activity on the land. This career survey celebrates Ruwedel’s selection as winner of the 2014 Scotiabank Photography Award, presented annually to honour an established Canadian artist working with photography.

A Primary Exhibition of the Scotiabank CONTACT Photography Festival
Presented by Scotiabank 
Organized by the Ryerson Image Centre 
In partnership with Scotiabank CONTACT Photography Festival 

Scotiabank Photography Award (SPA) is the largest annual peer-reviewed award in Canadian contemporary photography. The award recognizes the work of an exceptional Canadian photo-based artist and aims to launch them to the next level of their career. 

The award was founded by Edward Burtynsky, internationally renowned Canadian photo artist and Chair of the SPA Jury, with Jane Nokes, Director, Arts, Culture, & Heritage, Scotiabank Archives,‎ Corporate Records, & Fine Art, and Executive Director of SPA. Scotiabank Fine Art Collection was founded in 1976, and included photographs in its Acquisitions Policy from that time.

As the 2014 SPA recipient, Mark Ruwedel joins a distinguished group of artists that includes Stan Douglas, Lynne Cohen and Arnaud Maggs, contemporaries honoured with the Scotiabank Photography Award in years past. 

The Scotiabank Photography Award consists of five components:
A cash prize of $50,000 to the winner 
A book published and distributed world-wide by the internationally-renowned;art photography publisher Steidl (Germany) and overseen by Ed Burtynsky
A curated exhibition during the Scotiabank CONTACT Photography Festival at the Ryerson Image Centre 
$10,000 cash prizes to each of the two shortlisted artists
$1500 honorarium to the nominator of the winning artists for a written statement in the publication


Scotiabank Message

Welcome to the 2014 Scotiabank CONTACT Photography Festival! 

Scotiabank is thrilled to be the title sponsor of this annual festival of photography - the largest event of its kind in the world.

We support arts and culture through our global philanthropic program Bright Future because we believe the arts enrich our lives and encourage us to look at things from a different perspective.

The festival brings together over 1,500 talented local, national and international photographers. Their work presenting throughout Toronto inspires close to a million people every year, offering a glimpse into the creative world of photography.

This year’s program promises to offer an exciting experience and we are proud to announce that the winner of the prestigious Scotiabank Photography Award for 2013, Stan Douglas will showcase his work at an exhibition at the Ryerson Image Centre.

Please visit the 2014 Scotiabank CONTACT Photography Festival to discover the great selection of photographic art that it has to offer. I hope you have a great experience and it inspires new ways of thinking about the world every day.

Sabi Marwah
Vice Chairman and Chief Operating Officer, Scotiabank